Starting from scratch

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am no slouch when it comes to creating things from online instructions and patience. I have no patience today. I have tried a few methods to get a SD micro card in an adapter to boot my "new" nas running. Its is a Hewlett Packard DC 5800 w/8gb ram and a Core2 Duo 3.0ghz. I have a 40gb SSD & TWO (2x) 2 TB hdd. I would like these mirrored in the event of a single drive failure. Honestly, I would like the OS on the Flash drive, and the 2x 2tb as backups (raid-1).

How do I get the 11.1 image onto a 2gb flash drive so I can boot from it?

I am done fiddling. I have wasted hours, and learned nothing. I have no experience with Unix/linux or any of its derivatives.

Last edited:

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
No.

I was going off of older info concerning older builds. Thanks for the link. I will look it over tomorrow after work. It seems that the 11.XX builds are different then the 9.xx builds that the rest of the net is referencing.

I don't have a DVD-r drive, so burning the ISO is impossible. The target machine doesn't have a DVD drive, as the drives are populated with HDDs.

I don't have multiple 8+GB USB Flash drives that are available. Technically I have ONE, but it has uses around the house, and I won't tie it up for something like this.

Any suggestions?

Edit
Used windows download tool. It states it is not a valid ISO file.

Having some luck with Rufus. We will see how this goes. I really should be in bed 2 hours ago lol. I can't help but make hardware do things it was never meant to do.

Last edited:

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I have a 40gb SSD
That is probably the best bet to install the OS to, you just need to make a USB stick bootable temporarily to load the OS, then you can put the USB drive back the way it was.