SOLVED Standard Jail Template Errors

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pseudolife

Dabbler
Hello,

I have an issue with my standard jail template. I have a work-around in place for now, but I'd feel more comfortable with a proper fix, and some idea of how I broke things.

I'm new to FreeNAS, hence posting in this forum with my error. I've been working on this home NAS project in my spare time for only a few weeks or so.

Some basics about my machine:
My FreeNAS machine is a Dell tower that was given to me for this project.
FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201512121950
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
16312MB RAM
I have a pair of 1 Tb drives mirrored as one pool, and a pair of 3 Tb drives mirrored for a second pool. This maxes out the machine in terms of hard drives the motherboard can support.

The Problem:
After getting a couple of plugins more or less working, I went about setting a standard jail, and quickly got an error: "Unable to Find Template." It doesn't even attempt to download anything.

I found several forum posts on this topic, and reading through them it looked like this error can be related to many different issues. I started down the path of fixing things with the most obvious: I verified it wasn't a DNS problem by pinging google, and even changing my name servers to google's. This didn't' work.
Next I checked my collection url, which was pointed to here: http://download.freenas.org/latest/RELEASE/x64/jails and was returning a 404 error. I replaced it with http://download.freenas.org/jails/9.3/x64 but that didn't fix the problem either.
I then tried the instructions found here: https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/unable-to-find-template.38905/#post-237870 but got an "ERROR: A template with this nickname already exists!" error when attempting make a new "standard" nicknamed template. I was able to run the command with a different name, but it didn't help.

A quick side note: