SSL Connection Issue

panzerscope

Contributor
Hello all,

I have been working on setting up SSL so that I can connect to my server externally, securely. I believe have everything setup in my routers correctly for forwarding traffic to my TrueNas server as I get a response. When using my domain URL to contact the server I get the following:

1672748281567.png

This leads me to believe there is a config error. I created a CSR which I used to get a CA Certificate from my provider. I have installed the CA on my system. However I noticed that on my Certificates page that my CSR is still in "Signature Pending". Could this be my issue ? If so how would I go about resolving it ?

My certs page looks as below: (I have obfuscated my domain, but used the same layout as my actual domain)

1672748873049.png

I have double checked the system time is correct as I know this can also throw out SSL, so we can take that factor off the table.

Apologies, I am new to installing and setting up anything related to SSL.

Many thanks,
P

panzerscope

Contributor
Update, but still need help.

So it is evident I need to add a Certificate Authority in order to sign my CSR. Makes sense. So I have go ahead and tried to create a Certificate Authority using the "Import CA" Option. I used the Certificate Key (As provided in my PEM file) and my Private Key as per my CSR.

When I go to save, I get the following error

ERROR.jpg

I have made sure that the key is copy and pasted exactly as is, with no rogue spaces, but I just cannot get it to accept it. I know the Private Key to work as I have already installed the Certificate, but for some reason the Certificate Authority will not accept it.

I did try adding a Certificate Authority without the Private Key, which works. However if I try to use the "Sign" option afterwards, it says I need a certificate with a Private Key.....