Small Business NAS Hardware Recommendations?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peanut4848

Cadet
Hi All,

I want to ask for some advice about building a new NAS. As a graphic designer i need to be able to access the files fast and reliably. Also I am not sure but is it possible to access the NAS form outside the LAN/WAN. I have a low budget and the build would need to be under $500 if this is possible. I have an old pc case and a power supply so those dont need th be in the price. If anyone has any tips for a first time build thst would be much apreciated.

Thanks,
Gabriel

danb35

Hall of Famer
How much data do you need to store? How many people will be using it? Will you be doing anything other than file storage? Does your budget include the disks?

Best budget option I know of right now in .us is the HPE Proliant ML10 for US$200. Just add some RAM (at least another 8 GB) and your desired disks. I understand that model is available outside .us, but not sure what the pricing would be like in .au.

joeschmuck

Old Man
First of all, I would be very sckeptical if you could purchase just the hard drives alone for under $500, but no matter which NAS solution you choose, you will still need to purchase hard drives. @danb35 gave you great advice above. You need to be very specific in what requirements you need. We can help you with all of your questions, such as accessing the data on the internet but that is not a FreeNAS question but more a Router question. Also, is your intentions to work on graphics files directly on the NAS or copy them to a local PC and work the files there? This makes a difference as you will need a fairly advanced system to manage that, which means more money.

Peanut4848

Cadet
Hi danb35,

I only need about 1-2 tb of storage and there will only be 3 people accessing the NAS at most (usually only 2). I don't plan using the NAS for anything other then a file store (so no decoding of video or the likes).