Should I even consider FreeNAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello guys, hopefully you can guide a complete noob a little so I can find if I should put the time into learning about FreeNAS or I should go with something easier.

I have been running a Windows Server 2012 server/media center PC in my living room. I had actually already decided to go with FreeNAS because the youtube videos make it sound nice and easy, but reading a little on here gave me the opposite impression.

I will only be using this for home use, no backup and no redundancy needed as it mainly going to be used as a media server for my living room and watching movies from my other computer (and maybe mobile devices). With PLEX or something similar installed.

So would FreeNAS be suitable for this, I already have 6 drives with data on them, if possible I dont want to format them, but they are using the NTFS filesystem. Is it possible to use the NTFS drives on freeNAS, as I said I dont want any raid drives just a bunch of drives.

Hopefully my noobish question is ok here :)

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
If you have data on NTFS drives that you don't want to wipe, then freenas is definitely not for you. Based on your description of what you want, I see absolutely no benefit to using freenas.

What benefit were you looking to gain that you can't get from your windows server? Most people want freenas for its zfs capabilities and ease of use for zfs.

I'm using a trial version of windows server, so I wanted something permanent and easy to use. Which the youtube videos I saw made it out to be in my opinion. And because I dont really what else I should use, the best alternative I see right now is a Synology box, or simply getting another Windows 7 license.

Also as I understand it FreeNAS is a lighter alternative to windows.

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek