Sharing speeds, not sure how to build out infrastructure

WOLFofIT

Dabbler
so, still somewhat new to Linux, and TrueNas.

Truenas server
Supermicro X10DRH-iT
2xIntel Xeon E5-2680v3 2.5GHz 12-Core
112gigs of memory (14x 8GB PC4-2400T ECC )
10 g networking.
43TB of storage in raidz
Pool is configured for 8 x 8TB disks and 1 200gig SSD dedicated to cache

vmhost 1
12 CPUs x AMD Ryzen Threadripper Pro
32 gigs of ddr4 3200
10g networking

vmhost 2
6 CPUs x Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz
32 gigs ddr4 3600
10g networking

Originally I planned on building out iSCSI blocks and mount them with in vmware as a datastore. Then build out a vmguest with lets say 20 TB worth of room for a plex server.

Then I noticed I can set plex up directly on the NAS, and not sure if the application directly on the NAS would run better over a guest box with 8 cores/16gig of memory. I have read that newer cpu's can offer more with transcoding, but again I'm new to this.

Not sure of the path to take, any advice?

The goal is to run plex locally as fast as possible for multiple devices.

Switches are managed/10g, but nothing setup fancy.
Assuming iSCsI would be the best way, then vlan would be implemented for isolation

thanks!

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer
Are you running TN CORE or TN SCALE? Why are you posting in the legacy section of the forum? Please consider reposting in the appropriate section - your thread won't get much attention here.

If you intend to use iSCSI, did you read this guide?

WOLFofIT

Dabbler
i have no clue where i posted :D
running core, ill repost and read that iscsi page. thanks

MrGuvernment

Patron
200gig SSD dedicated to cache

Why do you feel you need 200G SSD for cache? It wont likely do what you think it might or could even cause slower performance.

WOLFofIT

Dabbler
i assumed the SSD disk would offer as a cache like other builds, more active files are stored on SSD for faster results access.

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer