Shares, Quotas, Datasets and how they work together

Cedus

Cadet
Hi everyone!

After hours of searching and reading old posts I'm more confused than ever. Previously I used Netapp. There I created a volume in an aggregate of disks and shared it via nfs. Now to add quotas: set a per-group rule so that users of group pupils get a hard limit of 20GB and users of group teachers get 100GB. Users of group root/wheel/staff are unlimited. Apply and ready!
Now with TrueNAS 13.0-U3.1 I created a pool and shared it via nfs. Now to add quotas... but suddenly there are datasets and I don't get the concept. How do I set the quotas according to my previous NAS with this? I studied the Docs Hub and started to create a generic dataset with a quota of 20GB, but I cannot set a group nor user.
Should I create three datasets (20/100/unlimited) and do I need to create rules to distribute them to my user(group)s? If a dataset is a file system within a TrueNAS pool, do I need to export the three datasets as three nfs-shares? Also there is no "Parent path" (as seen on the screenshots in Docs Hub) in my system, so it looks to me that the dataset is for the entire pool. If someone can give me a clue (and a simple explanation how the three in the title work together) please...

regards

Attachments

• New_Dataset_on_my_system.JPG
    New_Dataset_on_my_system.JPG
    23.3 KB · Views: 137
  • Generic_Dataset_on_Docs_Hub.JPG
    Generic_Dataset_on_Docs_Hub.JPG
    47.2 KB · Views: 135

Arwen

MVP
The original concept for ZFS Quotas and Reservations were to allow datasets to act similar to disk partitions & RAID volumes. This means that instead of sharing free space between ZFS datasets, you can make some guarantees of where the free space is available.

Later, Sun Microsystems added "userquota@USER" & "groupquota@GROUP", (and something for projects...). I don't know much about them, but I guessing that these are closer to what you were looking for.

Cedus

Cadet