Setting 2 different snapshots (lifetime, periode) for one pool?

pcace

Dabbler
Hi,

i am very new to TrueNAS and ZFS, so please excuse my probably kind of stupid question:

i have a ZFS Pool here, wich i want to backup using snapshots to another pool. My goal is to keep lets say two weeks of daily snapshots, and 3 years of monthly snapshots of this pool. this must be possible (?), but i am just not sure how to do that.
do i need two different replication tasks? or do i need one replication task with two selected (and different) periodic snapshot tasks?
Right now it looks like this: one Replication Task with two different periodic Snapshot tasks. But: What do i do with the naming? Should montly and daily have different names, or are they all the same but have different lifetimes?

The Replication Task:
Bildschirmfoto 2022-01-13 um 20.39.19.png

And its settings, with both selected snapshot tasks:
Bildschirmfoto 2022-01-13 um 20.38.10.png

And here are the snapshot tasks:

Bildschirmfoto 2022-01-13 um 20.37.19.png

Both look like this:
(yes the times are now set that close to test the behaviour)

Bildschirmfoto 2022-01-13 um 20.37.41.png

Is this how i would set this up? How about naming of the snapshots. Right now both snapshot tasks produce the same names. Is that a problem?
I am not quite confident that this is what i want to achieve ;)

Any suggestions?

THank you so much!!

Heracles

Wizard
this must be possible (?)

It sure is. Here, I use a 5 generations plan (15 minutes for 3 days, 1 hour for 30 days, 1 day for 90 days, 1 week for 1 year, 4 weeks for 4 years).

but i am just not sure how to do that

You just create as many snapshot tasks as you wish, one per frequency. As such, here, I have 5 snapshot tasks.

do i need two different replication tasks?

No. You need multiple snapshot tasks but a single replication task.