BUILD Server build....take 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

PhilInCA

Dabbler
So I'm new to FreeNAS...well, NAS in general actually. About 2 weeks ago I started looking into getting myself up and running on one of the many NAS options. I researched for only a few days, but after seeing so many references to the N40L and N54L, then seeing that the new version, Gen8, had just recently been released, I decided to pull the trigger on it. Incorrectly, I assumed that the "new improved version" would be a smooth path.

Other than the popularity, what drew me to these microservers was the low power, small size, and I wasn't going to have to go through the pains of making something work on my own. Plug and play right? Wrong. I guess the work you put in yourself pays off, but I was ready to be a little lazy this time. Just make it work for me! Oh well....Nothing worked. I tried for over a week, every night, to get something...anything...to run on this box. Tried FreeNAS first...nope. NAS4Free...nope, OpenMediaVault...nope. Debian Backports...YES...oh wait...nope. Call Newegg...get RMA...box it up...back to the drawing board.

Sorry for the long into...venting.

So I've been doing some reading here, and I've never been good at putting all the hardware fine details together. Last computer build was about 6 years ago. Still running great and serving my needs. Now on to this one.....

I have (2) 3TB WD Red drives. More than enough for me at the moment.
I still have a stick of 8GB memory left of Crucial ECC Ram. I can still send this back if it won't work on what I'm proposing.

So here's what I'm thinking:
Supermicro X9SCM $150
Xeon E3-1230 $225
Define Mini Case $90

Do I need the M1015? If so, no problem.
As for a power supply, I'm lost. Too many options. I know I'm looking for 80+ Gold, but wattage and whether they all work for microATX is confusing me.