Building a Freenas server in Tunisia (Africa)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Habloun

Cadet
Hi all,

I've been using Freenas for 4 years now, and I already lost my pool twice.
The first time was my mistake, the second was a hardware failure while I'm resilvering (RAID-Z1)...
My current server is a (G31 mobo + Core 2 duo E7300 + 2 Gigs DDR2 800Mhz + 4x 1 TB HDDs).

I want to build a robust NAS for home use. This time I'll be using better hardware (ECC RAM, etc..) and RAID-Z2.

The problem is: I'm in Tunisia, and it's impossible for me to ship hardware from international online websites (amazon, ebay). The only alternative is local market.

I looked for a Supermicro mobo, but unfortunately, I could not find one here in Tunisia.

Here is the link for a local shop: tunisianet.com.tn
I'm interested in the Dell PowerEdge T20, or maybe the HP ProLiant ML310e Gen8. Both come with only 4GB of RAM (I think ECC). I found a relatively cheap Samsung RAM : but I don't know if it's ECC, or even if it will work with the 2 systems.

Can anyone help me?

Amine

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hi all,

I've been using Freenas for 4 years now, and I already lost my pool twice.
The first time was my mistake, the second was a hardware failure while I'm resilvering (RAID-Z1)...
My current server is a (G31 mobo + Core 2 duo E7300 + 2 Gigs DDR2 800Mhz + 4x 1 TB HDDs).

I want to build a robust NAS for home use. This time I'll be using better hardware (ECC RAM, etc..) and RAID-Z2.

The problem is: I'm in Tunisia, and it's impossible for me to ship hardware from international online websites (amazon, ebay). The only alternative is local market.

I looked for a Supermicro mobo, but unfortunately, I could not find one here in Tunisia.

Here is the link for a local shop: tunisianet.com.tn