Selecting First FreeNAS Server Build

MalVeauX

Contributor
Hello all,

Forgive yet another thread of this nature, we all start some where...

Anyhow, I would like to build a home server and after reviewing options I think I've settled on FreeNAS overall as I would like a GUI and console without getting into anything super complex as I'm a novice to this and the last thing I want to do is have no clue on how to use the software when a fault happens. That's what I'm trying to avoid. I have used Linux & Windows mostly and have had basic file servers over the years, but they were just to move data around, nothing important so I wasn't too concerned with data integrity and redundancy. Now, I'm a lot more interested in integrity and redundancy so instead of buying a NAS I think it's time to simply build one with more control over selection of equipment.

Electrical Consumption:

I'm trying to weigh the options between building a modern low power PC basically or going with fairly old and used server equipment. I do care about the electrical foot print of consumption and heat as I don't want a monster electric bill generator along with a heat box here in Florida; it's hot enough. While I do not have a number in my mind, I do at least think less than 100 watts is appropriate and of course would love to target something in the 20's and 30's. That said, after reviewing things, I may end up in the 50's. I'm mostly interested in idle consumption compared to load consumption as it will spend more time idling or under minimal load.

Budget: