Seagate 8TB SED causes VERY slow OS load

ethanf

Dabbler
TL;DR: I added some Seagate 8TB SED (self encrypting drive) and it seems to have added MASSIVE delays in recognizing the drives and booting, along with some errors thrown here and there. Anyone else have issues or any suggestions? Possible bad drives?

Full Story:
I'm in the process of trying to retire my old HP server and recently spun up a new server (Supermicro X10SRH-CF) with a built in LSI SAS3008 onboard HBA. It did have an older firmware (P14 IT) but I left it as is and installed lastest TrueNAS without issue. I added 12x 10TB Seagate drives and created a new pool--awesome, no problems.

I needed more space to get all the data migrated from the old server since it has a massive single pool. I ordered 12x 8TB Seagate Enterprise SED drives (ST8000NM0105) and it has caused some weird stuff to happen. I am new to SED drives and from the research I've done I should be able to just use them without managing the encryption key. It should just use a default key. I don't want to manage the keys.