Scale system - Hybrid of NVMe and HDD pools presented as a single share

eastendtom

Cadet
Hi there,

I'm new to the TrueNAS project (looks very interesting!) and I’ve got a question before building my 1st test system. I run in-house technology for a film post production company, and need to read large image sequences very quickly. (4K TIFFs playing at 24 fps etc), therefore an all-flash solution to upgrade our legacy SAN storage is very interesting. Something like 40 TB NVMe to start with. However, I also need a volume of storage which will be much larger capacity (for slower reading material) but doesn’t need to be so fast read / write. Something like 250 TB (with ability to scale).

My question is this. At the mounted filesystem level I’d like a single share presented to Mac, Linux and Windows workstations, but to have some data 'homed' on the NVMe section, and some 'homed' on the HDDs. Is this possible please? Costing up some options at the moment, and if this seems feasible then I'll bite the time-bullet and get stuck in.

Thanks in advance!

Arwen

MVP
Based on your requirements, you would have 2 pools. One of NVMe devices and another of HDD. I would not think a single share is possible, as I think each has to have it's own shares.

Their is something about UnionFS or overlay mounts, but I don't recall the details. Perhaps someone else can chime in.

Getting specific performance characteristics out of a home built NAS can be tricky. One mistake and the performance target can be missed. Two mistakes, (or more), and performance can suck.

You might also look at a pre-built system from iXSystems. Possibly even with a support contract. (I have no connection to iXSystems other than using the free version of TrueNAS.)