rsync backup of remote NAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

calgarychris

Contributor
Hi,

I currently have a DNS-323 NAS that has photos on it that I would like to automatically backup to my new Freenas system (running 8.0.1). I am a complete noob, but I know I need to have it do an rsync "pull". The example in the documentation is written for two freenas systems, is it possible to do what I want or do you need to have a client side of rsync as well?

(edit) Also, when I am referring to the DNS, do I use the ip address (192.168.1.32) or //DNS-323/Volume_1 or some combination thereof?

Thanks
Chris

Milhouse

Guru
Can your DNS-323 schedule a "push" rsync job? If so, on the FreeNAS you would create an rsync "module" in Services, start the rsync service, then configure an rsync backup job on your DNS-323 that "pushes" data from the DNS-323 to the "module" on the FreeNAS.

Unfortunately FreeNAS has no support to "pull" data from a remote system, so if you want FreeNAS to initiate the transfer you have to resort to writing a FreeNAS shell script then scheduling it using cron.

In addition, the rsync service on FreeNAS 8.0.1 does not support ssh, and by default modules will authenticate without passwords (ie. anonymously) unless you specify restricted users/passwords via the "auth users" and "secrets file" auxiliary parameters in each rsync module you create.

Milhouse

Guru
(edit) Also, when I am referring to the DNS, do I use the ip address (192.168.1.32) or //DNS-323/Volume_1 or some combination thereof?

I would use the hostname rather than IP address, unless the IP address of the DNS-323 is a static IP address in which case it doesn't make a great deal of difference.

Using the IP address - if it's static - will always work, however if the IP address is assigned by DHCP then the hostname will be your only option (and only if your local DNS resolver is working correctly).

calgarychris

Contributor