root on zfs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hai

Dabbler
Hi all,

I am quite new to FreeNAS. I set up a FreeBSD with root on zfs some time ago though. Now I wonder whether that is possible with FreeNAS as well.
Having a USB-drive only has some disadvantages. I am not even sure if that boots on my Dell R720. :(
Has anyone done that?

Thanx,

hai

cyberjock

Inactive Account
No. FreeNAS boots from a UFS partition. But, there's something in the works for going to ZFS for the boot device. I can't say much more or give an ETA.

hai

Dabbler
OK, thank you.
What is the best practise to avoid a desaster due to a faulty USB-drive then? Having two (and booting from the second one) and a backup of the configuration, etc on the zfs pool?
Or is it possible to have the system only on the USB while everything else is on zfs? Means configs, users and all that.
Last noob question :rolleyes: Is there a way to use a "normal" FreeBSD and on top of it the FreeNAS web interface? Probably not but it would be nice.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Follow the manual.. backup the config file and have a spare USB stick that you can install your version of FreeNAS on and do a restore.

No, everything goes on the USB stick except your data. Your config file has your user info, and they will be restored automatically.

That last question is "no". But you can run FreeBSD in a jail and play with it to your heart's content.

hai

Dabbler
Thanks again.
Well, the problem is that I can't just pop a new stick into the machine as it is far away. Another consideration is HA. I couldn't find anything helpful though. FreeNAS and carp?

A jail doesn't help. The problem is that you can do everything with FreeBSD (zfs on root, bacula + tape drive, whatever makes sense on a fileserver) but no beautiful web interface. FreeNAS has that but you are very limited if you can't use a jail. OK, I see the point. It is a NAS only and well tuned for that task.

cyberjock

Inactive Account