Rob Shaver: Trying to discover if FreeNAS is what I need.

Status
Not open for further replies.
My name is Rob Shaver and I'm a retired electronics engineer who also likes to shoot and edit video. I have many hard disks from many past computers, but my working storage is two 4GB and one 5GB USB 3 external drives. I install all my apps on the 5GB boot drive but try not to put any important files on that drive. All my data goes onto the external hard drive. I also have three more external USB 3 drives for backup because I always buy them in pairs.

Because backing up is a manual operation, I don't back up as often as I should. I use Sync Toy on each drive once in awhile. I take the computer off the LAN to avoid getting a ransomware infestation while I have my backup disks connected. So this is why I'm looking for a better solution.

I have scanned through the FreeNAS docs and been reading the forums for a couple of days now. I have not found any sign of FreeNAS having a system for backing up. So that brings me to my questions (please tell me if I should post this in another forum):
  1. Does FreeNAS have a backup solution? (Correct me if I'm wrong but snapshots will let me recover files but are not really backups, right? If ransomware strikes I would not be able to recover the files, right?)
  2. Is FreeNAS Corral a likely solution? (I can't really find any documentation about what Corral is. All I find is warnings not to use it yet.)
  3. Is there any document that tells what Corral is in a nutshell?
  4. Is it possible to divide the storage installed in a single FreeNAS server into two parts, one for daily use and another for backup?
  5. If so, can I make the backup set off-line after each backup?
  6. If I can take disks off-line, can they be spun down while not in use?
  7. If all of this is possible, can it all be automated? (I'm pretty sure if we can do the rest, automating it won't be that hard.)
  8. Is there some other product I should be looking at instead?