Recommended Setup for All-SSD Server With This Specific Hardware?

pr0927

Dabbler
Hi all, posted to Reddit and didn't get much assistance. Figured I'd come here. I'm new to TrueNAS Scale, and I've recently built a new server and will be using it to replace my current main UnRAID server. I will later wipe and then repurpose that server for backup (Duplicati?) and Frigate NVR duties (currently a separate UnRAID server - trying to consolidate a bit) - also with TrueNAS Scale.

I currently self-host Plex (will be moving to Jellyfin), Nextcloud, FreshRSS, Vaultwarden, PhotoPrism, and Wallabag.

I also use VMs for Home Assistant and a Windows 11 system that has a passed-through RTX 3080 for living room gaming.

The UnRAID server has a 1TB cache M.2 NVME SSD, 4x 8TB WD Red Plus 3.5" HDDs, a 500GB M.2 NVME SSD (passed-through for the Windows 11 VM), and 64GB DDR4 RAM. CPU is a Ryzen 3700X.

Plex transcoding was handled by a GTX 1080.

For the new one - I wanted to go all-SSD, maintain the same services, and broaden my abilities for VMs. I acquired:

* 4x 8TB Intel DC P4510 NVME Drives (2.5" U.2 - NVME)
* 2x 1TB Seagate Firecuda 530 (M.2 - NVME)
* 2x 240GB Samsung PM893 (2.5" - SATA)
* 64GB DDR5 RDIMM ECC RAM

The dual SATA drives are the boot ones - mirrored. I will be putting the Intel drives into a RAIDZ2 pool for the main data pool.

Plex transcoding now to be handled by a Quadro P400 (lord knows I needed to reduce/shrink the amount of stuff/heat/power in there - 10GbE NIC was overheating). CPU is an EPYC 9124 (yes, I know).

I'm not certain what's the best use of the two M.2 drives - dedicated VM pool? Or dedicated pool for app config/install location? Mirrored? Striped? On the previous UnRAID server I used the 1TB cache for "appdata" and the Home Assistant VM (and as mentioned, the Windows 11 one had a dedicated 500GB SSD passed-through). Or one of those specialized L2ARC cache or special metadata pools?