SOLVED RAIDZ1 single vdev performance issue

NeverEnd

Dabbler
Hello, I'm new to Freenas, I've read a lot (at leasst a lot to me) about Freenas and NFS online, it's the first time I'm trying to setup a Freenas storage server at home. This is the hardware I'm using:

Mother board: ASUS Z87
CPU: Intel i5 GEN4
MEM: 8GB DDR3
NIC: Intel I210-T1
DISK: 4x WD RED 4TB

I know - these things mearly meat the minimum hareware requrements of Freenas but it's what I have now, and I just want to setup a Freenas storage server at home so I can put my photos on it and edit from my MBP. The hard drives are connected to those SATA 6GB ports on the mother board (directly connected, without RAID function of the mother board), and I made a pool with a RAIDZ1 vdev.

Both the Freenas server and my MBP are connected to a Fortigate 60E (I'm usisng Apple's USB-C Thunderbolt Gigabit Ethernet adapter with MBP), and I'm expecting the file transfer speed to reach at least 100MBps or so, but it can only reach about 40-50 MBps when transfering a single large file, and about 20-30 MBps with small files, both "upload" (from MBP to Freenas) and "download" speed are about the same. I've also tried NFS and SMB, the same. SFTP is even slower.

Is there anything that I'm missing, or any suggestions?

garm

Wizard
What is your write speed running something like dd on the NAS itself?

NeverEnd

Dabbler
I've done the write/read test running "dd" on Freenas and this is the result:
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/Pool1/main01/ddtest bs=1024k count=100000
100000+0 records in
100000+0 records out
104857600000 bytes transferred in 52.244679 secs (2007048416 bytes/sec)

Code:
dd if=/mnt/Pool1/main01/ddtest of=/dev/zero bs=1024k count=100000
100000+0 records in
100000+0 records out
104857600000 bytes transferred in 21.132713 secs (4961861849 bytes/sec)

To me, the results seem too good to be true... I do have a SSD as SLOG device in the pool, not sure if it plays some role in the dd test.

rvassar

Guru