RAID options, speed, recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

cs86

Dabbler
Hello community,

I'm a little new with servers, FreeNAS, and networking so please bear with me.

I have some questions on raid options, and backup along with the speed that goes with it. I'm hoping I'm posting this is the right location. I've tried to do some searching, and haven't come up with the answers that I'm looking for. I have a general idea of how the different raid options work and would like some advise for what I'd like to do if I get a FreeNAS system set up.

A little background on what I'm saving. I intend on using this for small business. I use 3D modeling software to draft projects. The size of the projects can range from 50mb to 1gb including lots of PDF files at times. Through the year I'm guessing I may save up to a total of 10GB. I'd like to have remote access to these files periodically on a laptop. So I think the speed of the network may be of some importance.

Goals of storage and backup: I'd like to have about 4TB of usable data. I think this will be large enough for years until I need to upgrade. I would like to have a type of backup that can backup daily or weekly and maybe back up the server to an external hard drive once a month. Luckily I never have issues with viruses, malware, or ransomware. I've seen other that have experienced ransom ware and want to somehow protect and be able to restore files if necessary. I'm more worried about this if I add users to the network that may stumble onto the wrong site or open the wrong email.

My questions are.
Are snapshots in FreeNAS only available with ZFS type storage?
Are snapshots a good way of backup for hourly, daily, weekly backups?
What type of raid would be advisable for a the type of backup that I've mentioned and which gives decent I/O speeds?
- Is it possible to Raid 2 drives, mirror the 1st set to the 2nd set in 1 week as a backup, and another mirror to a 3rd set in 1 months time?