Question: Ways to add storage, Best practices?

Amsoil_Jim

Contributor
As the title says, what's the ways to add storage and what are the best practices for doing so? Has anything changed?

I'll start by telling you my situation.

I have been using FreeNAS since early 2016. My initial Pool was created using 6 3TB WD Red drives in a computer tower. Setup as RAIDZ1. At some point the motherboard died and I upgraded to a used server. The server has the ability to hold 24 disks.

In December 2018 I purchased 6 10TB Easystores and schucked them. At that time I put all 6 new drives in to the server and then replaced each 3TB drive one at a time until the pool was replaced with all the new drives and then I had more storage.

Due to "life" I have not kept up with the upgrades from FreeNAS to TrueNAS, I am currently running on FreeNAS-11.3-U5. I do want to upgrade at some point but I just don't want to deal with the repercussions that comes with upgrading, i.e. Jails breaking.

Currently I am at 74% used space, So I know I will be needing more space soon.
So back to the original question, How to add more space? I know I can purchase larger drive and replace them to expand the pool. What would be the best way in my situation that I could utilize the fact that I can have up to 24 drives?
I was thinking of purchasing 6 14TB drives that are on sale right now and replacing the 10TB drives, but I'm wondering if there’s a way to utilize the 10TB drives at the same time.

I see there is an option to add vdev's but the documentation states "the vdev being added must be the same type as existing vdevs" so would that mean instead of replacing the 10TB drive with the 14's that I could add the 6 14's to the pool as another vdev? If this is true, what's the down side?

Last edited:

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer