Question on setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bizquick

Explorer
Okay not sure this is the place to get into this question.
But I'm still really new to using FreeNAS and I like what I have tested and used so far.
Ive added this to my home network before with some older desktop hardware and 1 TB of storage.
I found after using it shortly I dont know why I didnt make a media box sooner.
So now I've made something I'm testing now required.

Anyway back to my question or 's.
Now I have FreeNAS installed on a Old Dell T310 with 16gb ram.It seams to run fine for me on this old hardware.
I dont feel I need more of anything.
I only do file sharing and plex. my playback devices are a Roku box (not a stick) and a Nex95 Android TV box.
Usable storage is about 5.4 tb.
Now I installed it on a 16GB USB flash drive.

My only complaint is how long it takes to boot up because its on a USB 2.0 flash drive.
When I was testing it on my old desktop hardware. I had the boot on a SSD. and it was nice. it came up quick.
I kind of would like to recreate that. but I'm not really sure how to backup all the media I have been storing and then restore.
I dont know enough about installing this. So I end up doing a total reinstall and recreate everything from scratch.
But I'm back to my problem I want to back up the data first.
Is there a way I can hook up a USB drive and like back all of it up?
I have a USB 3.0 card in there. I cant use it for boot. But I can use it to plug in external storage.

Or is there a easy way I can like transfer my settings to a new boot install disc?
Just trying to figure out the best way to do this.
One more question to add to all this
The SSD I would use is a 240 GB. Is there a way I can like use 40GB for the boot and the other 200GB for like a Jail store or something? Or is all of this a really bad Idea?
I just don't like the slow boot up. (5-7mins I think)

chris crude

Patron