Proper way to set up FreeNAS server

GChuck

Dabbler
First let me say that I'm totally new to FreeNAS and apologize if what I'm asking has been asked and answered before.

I have been using Windows Home Server 2011 (and WHS V1) for many years as a home server and I now need to replace it as Microsoft has abandoned the product. I did look at newer versions of Windows Server (2012 and 2016) but gave up after realizing they were expensive and often did not work properly.

I use my Home Server for three things; a file server for my household network of 5 Windows PC's, 1 Mac Desktop and 1 Linux Desktop, a backup server to automate backups nightly for my home network and lastly as a media server to store and display my home movies, music and photographs.

I have 2 WHS boxes in use; primary and backup. So I took the backup WHS machine and installed Ubuntu 18.04 LTS server. This machine is an older Core 2 Duo with 16GB memory, 1 160GB drive for system and 3 2TB drives for backups and data. On this server I then installed Samba server and Plex Media Server and after a couple of weeks of trial and error have now gotten this machine to more or less mimic what WHS had been doing for me for years. In addition, I have been using a freely usable backup product from a company called Veeam to create and manage my backups

This is all working pretty well, but it does not offer any form of safety net for disks going bad. So that brings me to FreeNAS!

I have another identical machine that I have been trying to get FreeNAS to work on. This machine may be under powered, but it should be adequate for my testing. If I can get it working properly, then I'll upgrade the hardware.