Moving data between volumes using cp.. is this ok to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ReggiePerrin

Cadet
Hi

I'm new to Freenas/Unix so please bear with me if this appears to be a really Noob question :)

Firstly this is a great product, my HP microserver arrived yesterday and within an hour I had Freenas up and running; no fuss, no problems... The longest part was waiting for the Freenas image to burn to the USB key.

Scenario/plan:-

I'm migrating a lot of DVD rips from a WHS v1 server into a temp 2TB volume I've created on Freenas, I then want to physically move a 2TB drive from the WHS server and put it into the Freenas server, create a single drive ZFS volume on this drive and then copy everything across from the temp volume.

Finally blitz the temp volume, setup a RAID1 ZFS mirror and selectively copy the video and nfo files from the former WHS drive (the single drive ZFS volume) to this new volume.

[Sorry if this is as clear as mud, but I want to move a lot of data :) ]

The question:-

After I move the data from the WHS box onto the Freenas box, and to remove the network as a bottleneck, can I then ssh onto the freenas box and use the UNIX cp command to copy data between volumes by referencing the relevant /mnt/'volume name'/'Dataset' directories?

Logically I don't see this as being a problem, but as my knowledge of Unix can best be described as dangerous, I thought I would just double check first.

thanks in advance
Reggie

cp + ssh = scp

http://amath.colorado.edu/computing/software/man/scp.html

you may prefer to use rsync over ssh, it allows for partial transfers to be resumed more easily. very similar to scp but i generally use the following

rsync --partial --stats --progress -r -avz -e ssh [source] [destination]

the best part is, if something fails halfway through, you run the same command and it will figure the rest out.

ReggiePerrin

Cadet
Thanks for the reply and info