Poor pool performance due to weak hardware?

boggie1688

Explorer
Background Info:

Truenas Scale 22.02.0 Release
AMD 3400G
MSI B450-A Pro MAX
Corsair 2x16 DDR 4 2933
Intel x520-DA2
Sun Oracle 375-3609-03 8 Port 6 Gb/s SAS HBA
Netapp DS-4246 with IOM6

Pool #1:
7x Toshiba 5TB 7200rpm 128mb
Raidz1

Pool #2:
1x Toshiba 18TB 7200rpm 256mb

Desktop:
AMD 3950x
Intel x520-DA2
32GB DDR4 3200

Long story short, I've been struggling with getting my 10G network to produce decent speeds. I bought two Intel x520-DA2s, stuck one in my desktop and the other in the NAS box. I purchased two transceivers from FS.com, both coded for intel hardware. Upon plugging everything in, and configuring the network for a direct connection, my SMB file copy produce some really POOR results.

I'll fully admit, I'm not a pro user like many people here, but I did notice one interesting thing. If I copy from Pool#1, my speed vary wildly. On a fresh reboot with no apps running, I can see upwards of 800mb/s. However if my apps are running suddenly my copy speeds are bouncing up and down 50mb/s to 400mb/s, averaging somewhere around 250-300mb/s. Whether or not I have apps running, if I copy a file from Pool#2, I always copy at around 240mb/s.

Given Pool#2, is just a single drive and Pool#1 has 7 drives, I assume there is something wrong with how my Pool#1 is configured. I've had this pool for almost 7 years. I also, think I noticed, that copying files from Pool#1 seems to draw on some CPU power where as copying from Pool#2 doesn't. Although, my CPU doesn't come close to maxing out, as the dashboard show only 35-50% usage.

Is my pool#1 performance due to having a weak processor? Or is there something else I should be looking into?

Last edited:

artlessknave

Wizard
read and writes use RAM first (ARC), and then dump to disk in consolidated writes. if your test file fits into RAM, your measurement will be RAM speeds, not just your disks.