Plex Server Setup fails to execute - FIXED

Andy McClements

Dabbler
Hi, I've not used Plex before, though I'm a moderately experienced sysadmin and know my way around unix and networking.

I just installed plexmediaserver-1.18.2.2058 via 'pkg' into a jail running 11.3-RELEASE-p6, under FreeNAS 11.3-U1. I've enabled 'allow raw sockets' on the Jail, and IPv6 & IPv4 are enabled.

I previously created a Plex account via the Plex portal. After starting plexmediaserver using the start script provided in the package, I connected to the new server on port 32400. The browser was redirected to the Plex portal and a login was required, and I supplied the account credentials and was logged in.

'Some stuff happened', then, I saw the 'No Soup for You' message. I closed the browser session, and restarted the local plexmediaserver instance. After logging in again, the Plex portal appeared to be working OK.

However, the 'Plex Server Setup' process, which I believe should happen automatically at first login, did not happen. Sure enough, on the Plex portal, under Account:Authorized Devices, the newly-installed local plexmediaserver instance IS NOT LISTED.

At the top level of the portal, under 'Your Media', there is no option to add any media, instead there is just a button, labelled 'Get Plex Media Server'.

So, I'd be very grateful for any pointers to how to make this thing work. I can't find any manual, and Google didn't help much.

I can recommend installing plex via plugins, it just worked for me, flawless. Maybe give it a try.
Alternatively you can search the Researches Resources section for scripted installs of plex. Doing it by hand with pkg is just unnecessary pain.

Andy McClements

Dabbler
This problem occurred with the client browser on a different IP subnet to the jail running the plexserver instance.

I tried connecting with a browser on the same subnet as the server, and the Plex Server Setup process then executed successfully.