Plex Buffers a lot :(

Status
Not open for further replies.
I went over to someone's house and tried to show them a movie on my Plex server, which is hosted in my house. I could only get a 480p stream going and if I went to 1080p if refused to even load the movie. In my house, the movies loaded fine in 1080p.
(I am new to FreeNAS)
Speed test:
My house: 60mbps - Upload
Gf house: 150mbps - Download

My pc specs should be in the signature.

Thank you in advance :)

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Signatures are not visible when someone is using a mobile device.

Are any of the systems using WiFi?

scrappy

Patron
Is your Plex server converting the video format to the remote player? Are your stored videos in HEVC (h.265)? This might be more of a problem with the client if I were to guess.

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

Signatures are not visible when someone is using a mobile device.

Are any of the systems using WiFi?

Yes the laptop which plex was being streamed on was on wifi but it was also getting 150 Mbps down

Cpu - i3 4130
Ram - 8Gb ddr3
Hard Drive 1 = External 4Tb Seagate
Hard Drive 2 = Internal Western Digital 1Tb
Motherboard = Dell Mini Atx
PSU = Dell Stock
Network Card = Onboard Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 3020 (modified)

Is your Plex server converting the video format to the remote player? Are your stored videos in HEVC (h.265)? This might be more of a problem with the client if I were to guess.

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

This is what the video is stored as
VLC media file (.mkv) (.mkv)
Baby.Driver.2017.1080p.WEB-DL.H264.AC3-EVO

This is stored on 4Tb USB 3.0 Drive Seagate
To stream it i was using the plex web link on the laptop

diedrichg

Wizard
What is your FreeNAS hardware configuration?

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
This has nothing to do with FreeNAS and would be better asked in the Plex forums.