Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Please do not run FreeNAS in production as a Virtual Machine!

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526
We're trying to scare you into thinking straight.. then not even trying to virtualize.

One of the prevailing problems with IT people is that as soon as you tell them not to do it, they want to do it anyway. Yes, it's incredibly stupid, but it is what it is.

The bottom line is we provide zero support around here, we delete threads asking for support, and generally we have better things to do. We've got this warning here and if people don't want to listen that's fine. Just don't come crying to us when things go bad.
 

TXAG26

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
295
I'm TXAG26 and I'm virtualized! :smile: I spent my money and did it right 100% with true server-grade hardware and full PCI pass-through with a ton of ECC ram dedicated just to FreeNAS. Have a RaidZ2 for storage and a RaidZ1 for primary backup. I have full SMART control over all of my drives. Do it right or just don't do it at all...and have secondary/off-line backup on another physical machine or on external HDD's.
 
  • Like
Reactions: L

ohill

Newbie
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
1
Disabled BIOS VT-d on production server gives good bandwidth improvement. Have to check another Vanderpool field.

Motherboard : Supermicro X10SL7
 

messerchmidt

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
54
while I suspect that you discourage running freenas 9 as a virtual machine to protect Truenas, a guide to getting it working on hyper-v or exsi 5.5 with server grade hardware would be appreciated.
 

9C1 Newbee

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Messages
483
while I suspect that you discourage running freenas 9 as a virtual machine to protect people's data, if you need a guide to getting it working on hyper-v or exsi 5.5 with server grade hardware, it would be a bad idea to do it.
Fixd
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
17,019
while I suspect that you discourage running freenas 9 as a virtual machine to protect Truenas, a guide to getting it working on hyper-v or exsi 5.5 with server grade hardware would be appreciated.
The same TrueNAS that runs on dedicated, custom hardware?

Yeah, spare the conspiracy theories.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
13,623
The same TrueNAS that runs on dedicated, custom hardware?
You, too, can build your own chip fab to create advanced microprocessors capable of running TrueNAS. Just take mithril and put it through a litho process that involves sacrificing angels (we actually know how many fit on the head of a pin!) and use radioactive waste to etch a chip, all of which has to be done in a pure environment of unicorn farts...

Oh, you didn't mean quite that custom? ;-)
 

messerchmidt

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
54
With proper server grade hardware that passes everything through properly, running freenas 9+ as a VM without an issue should be possible. For example, using a fully IBM/LSI M1015 card for the array. Alternatively, a jail that runs vm images would be great.
 
Last edited:

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
17,019
You, too, can build your own chip fab to create advanced microprocessors capable of running TrueNAS. Just take mithril and put it through a litho process that involves sacrificing angels (we actually know how many fit on the head of a pin!) and use radioactive waste to etch a chip, all of which has to be done in a pure environment of unicorn farts...

Oh, you didn't mean quite that custom? ;-)
Well, custom as in "We have decided on a specific set of hardware, take it or leave it."
 

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
4,219
With proper server grade hardware that passes everything through properly, running freenas 9+ as a VM without an issue should be possible. For example, using a fully IBM/LSI M1015 card for the array. Alternatively, a jail that runs vm images would be great.
Sounds an awful lot like you completely ignored jgreco's comment and his dedicated thread regarding exactly that subject.
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
17,019

9C1 Newbee

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Messages
483

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
17,019
The problem is that you don't get feedback from people who read the posts and follow the advice. :)
Ah, the eternal "everything is ok, so I won't review" problem.
 

TXAG26

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
295
I guess I'm too lazy to write a review as well. My VM setup is also solidly boring...ZZZzzz
 

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526
I guess I'm too lazy to write a review as well. My VM setup is also solidly boring...ZZZzzz
And nobody in their right mind uses that kind of info to validate a build is solid. Why?

Do you know how many people lost their data after they were also 100% sure the system was rock solid and safe to store the only copy of their data? Every. Single. One.

It's just like the initial post says. It all works great until it doesn't. And that day it doesn't is the day you lost your pool.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top