PiHole on TrueNAS Core 12.0

muzmurray

Cadet
Hi, first post from a Freenas/TrueNAS noob, apologies if I'm in the wrong section!

I have been running the PiHole adblocker for a year or so on a Raspberry Pi attached to my network, I would like to clear up the hardware excess and run it on my TrueNAS Core server. I have some experience with Linux of various types, but TrueNAS is completely new to me.
After a lot of research on G**gle and Y*uT*be, I have found and tried several different approaches from Ubuntu in a VM to Docker.
I haven't had much luck as there seems to be no instructions ou tthere for TrueNAS 12.0, and every attempt I make using instructions for FreeNAS do not work.

Could anyone give a TrueNAS noob a helping hand?
Which is the "best" way - VM, Docker, or something else?
I have tried several times to install Ubuntu (18LTS and 20LTS) in a VM, it seems to go well with no problems, but when I start the VM I have no access via VNC or Serial.

Help please!
Thanks in advance

hervon

Patron
Search in your friend.

vanastasis

Cadet
are you able to install ubuntu and complete setup via vnc in bhyve ?

Last edited:

gt2416

Patron
The topic is here:

Im trying to get it to work natively. If you want something that works today without a vm you can use adguard home. They have a freebsd build.
Hopefully someone with more freebsd knowledge than me can help, I believe it is possible to run pihole in a FreeNAS jail.
Someone already got the main DNS service to work on FreeBSD, it builds and appears to run at least.

This is how far I got
1625845077485.png

Sokonomi

Contributor
Have you made progress on this? I'm quite interested. :P

gt2416

Patron
Sadly no. Pi-hole uses its own dns service (pinhole-FTL), someone else made it work for FreeBSD quite some time back. Sadly he said he won’t actively work on it and that version while it runs on FreeBSD has some issues. It keeps 1 cpu core pinned at 100% which is not ideal.