Permissions problems after installing Plex Media Server Plugin

Status
Not open for further replies.

aNuStart

Cadet
Good evening, good morning and good afternoon wherever you may be.

As you can see I am new to FreeNAS and the FREEBSD world. I have a stronger background in Microsoft and a decent handle (enough to be dangerous) on Linux.

FreeNAS has been fun but I find that one of my biggest problems so far has been with permissions. I've fixed my issue with Transmission but now I'm trying to get my issues with Plex ironed out.

I tried to follow the instructions as close to the T outlined in this video guide https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DnUWTliaOY, however, I guess due to version differences (I'm running 9.10 and the guide is on 9.2.1) some of the steps may be out of date.

My problem is, I can create the dataset, share it via CIFS, and see it in Windows (although it will not allow me to change permissions for everyone once I map it it says "access denied"), but neverthless, I can transfer files to said store no problem. I noticed that once I install the Plex Media Server Plugin, it's like it completely jacks up my permissions, it will not allow me to do any changes to the store from Windows such as adding or deleting a file, although it'll let me read it. (The user account I'm using is freenasuser that is assigned to the wheel group). I'll look at the permissions on FreeNAS and notice none of my permissions have changed, but Plex does see the media that I had previously transferred on that store.

I provided some screenshots of my settings, but I can show anything else you would need. I did try and search, but it didn't seem like people were having this specific issue. Maybe I fudged something up.