Periodic Snapshots Cull Script

Status
Not open for further replies.

irTwit

Dabbler
I created a script to reduce the number of snapshots shown in the Window's folder "Previous Versions" tab as they get older.

The script reduces the number snapshots created by FreeNAS Periodic Snapshots Tasks. It uses two methods, first it compares snapshots two at a time deleting newer snapshots that have no difference from the older one. Second, after a user specified time it reduces the number of snapshots taken throughout a day to one per day, then after another user defined length of time reduces the number to one per week.

https://github.com/WolfBungalow/FreeNAS-Cull-Snapshots

I saw fracia's ZFS Rollup script but it was over my head and I learn best when trying to make something.

Disclaimer
I'm a noob. Use at your own risk. Feedback appreciated.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
If you set your snapshots up correctly I fail to see how this script would be useful.

irTwit

Dabbler
If you set your snapshots up correctly I fail to see how this script would be useful.

I would love a built-in option, and I would setup three tasks, but I want access to the snapshots through the Windows Previous Version feature. To set that up requires me to select a snapshot task under the FreeNAS SMB share but as far as I can tell you can only select one task, not three.

With the script all the snapshots for the dataset are available. Additionally, each is unique because the snapshots that held no difference from the ones preceding it are deleted. This makes easier finding the changed files instead of clicking through duplicate snapshots.

upload_2017-7-2_1-38-54.png

HateTheDrake

Dabbler

Agreed.

I'm a noob here, though I was under the impression that it would auto-prune the snaps if you set them up correctly. I have several setup, though do not have enough snaps to verify their removal.

Mine are:
every 2 hours w/in business hours, keep for two weeks.
every week, keep for a month.