Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

PCI-E USB 3.0 card failing

intensity

Neophyte
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
7
I tried to add a PCI-E USB 3.0 card to my TrueNAS system, but it's not working.

The card I bought is this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FPIMJEW
which says that it has a Fresco Logic FL1100EX chip

The card itself seems to detect in lspci and usbconfig (these lines are added when card inserted)
Code:
$ usbconfig (limited to relevant part)
ugen0.1: <0x1b73 XHCI root HUB> at usbus0, cfg=0 md=HOST spd=SUPER (5.0Gbps) pwr=SAVE (0mA)

$ lspci -v (limited to relevant part)
02:00.0 Class 0c03: Device 1b73:1100 (rev 10) (prog-if 30)
    Subsystem: Device 1b73:1100
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
    Memory at f7b00000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
    Memory at f7b11000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
    Memory at f7b10000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
    Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
    Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/8 Maskable- 64bit+
    Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
    Capabilities: [b0] MSI-X: Enable- Count=8 Masked-
    Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting


However if I plug any devices into the USB card, they don't come up in usbconfig...
I've added the xhci_load (loader) tunable set to YES but that didn't seem to change anything.
I've also tried both with and without connecting a SATA power cable to the card.

These messages repeat in /var/log/messages, but otherwise I'm not sure how to debug this
Code:
$ tail /var/log/messages (these lines repeat - sometimes slightly different)
Jan 13 09:08:49 truenas ugen0.2: <VIA Labs, Inc. USB2.0 Hub> at usbus0
Jan 13 09:08:49 truenas uhub5 on uhub0
Jan 13 09:08:49 truenas uhub5: <VIA Labs, Inc. USB2.0 Hub, class 9/0, rev 2.10/b.e0, addr 13> on usbus0
Jan 13 09:08:49 truenas uhub_attach: getting USB 2.0 HUB descriptor failed,error=USB_ERR_IOERROR
Jan 13 09:08:49 truenas device_attach: uhub5 attach returned 6
Jan 13 09:08:49 truenas ugen0.2: <VIA Labs, Inc. USB2.0 Hub> at usbus0 (disconnected)
Jan 13 09:08:52 truenas ugen0.2: <VIA Labs, Inc. USB2.0 Hub> at usbus0
Jan 13 09:08:52 truenas uhub5 on uhub0
Jan 13 09:08:52 truenas uhub5: <VIA Labs, Inc. USB2.0 Hub, class 9/0, rev 2.10/b.e0, addr 14> on usbus0
Jan 13 09:08:52 truenas uhub_attach: port 1 power on or off failed, USB_ERR_IOERROR
Jan 13 09:08:52 truenas uhub_attach: port 2 power on or off failed, USB_ERR_IOERROR
Jan 13 09:08:52 truenas uhub_attach: port 3 power on or off failed, USB_ERR_IOERROR
Jan 13 09:08:52 truenas uhub_attach: port 4 power on or off failed, USB_ERR_IOERROR
Jan 13 09:08:52 truenas uhub5: 4 ports with 4 removable, self powered
Jan 13 09:08:52 truenas ugen0.2: <VIA Labs, Inc. USB2.0 Hub> at usbus0 (disconnected)
Jan 13 09:08:53 truenas uhub5: at uhub0, port 3, addr 14 (disconnected)
Jan 13 09:08:53 truenas uhub5: detached


Does anyone have any clue what might be wrong here?
 

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
2,062
XHCI controllers typically host both a USB3.0 and a USB2.0 host bridge. From the fragment you've posted, it appears TrueNAS can't bring up the USB2.0 host bridge. Can you provide the output of usbconfig dump_all_desc? This will be quite long.
 

intensity

Neophyte
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
7
Thanks for the help Samuel, I've attached the full output.
 

Attachments

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
2,062
OK, your system doesn't see the ugen0.2 USB2.0 host bridge on the XHCI controller, and your previous extract indicates a power issue. Are you connecting your power supply to the card via the provided SATA power to Molex cable? (You shouldn't need the xhci_load tunable in TrueNAS 12.) The most likely possibility is the card was damaged in shipment if everything's plugged in correctly.
 

intensity

Neophyte
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
7
I have plugged it in but it didn't seem to change it. I'll try another SATA cable and otherwise assume that it's broken.

This card should be supported yes, so if functional it should work under TrueNAS?
 

Chris Moore

Wizened Sage
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,999

intensity

Neophyte
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
7
So my motherboard only has 2 USB ports, one taken for the TrueNAS OS.

Currently I'm trying to get an external monitor working (that needs 1 usb for it's power and 1 usb to power the vga-to-hdmi), but obviously with only 1 USB port free, it'll be tough if I ever want to plug in a USB keyboard and USB mouse.
 

intensity

Neophyte
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
7
I'm new to server gear, so I'm not sure how to use IPMI to display a screen. Can you point me in the right direction (what hardware/software do I need)?

However I DO also want to fix or replace the card so that I can plug in more than 2 USB devices in a normal way.
 

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
2,062
I'm new to server gear, so I'm not sure how to use IPMI to display a screen. Can you point me in the right direction (what hardware/software do I need)?
Connect a network cable to the IPMI port on your X9SCM-F. You may need to check your router to see what IP it picked up. Then just web to that IP, and login with the default account admin/admin.

This YouTube video explains things quite well. Note, this vintage of IPMI needs Java to work. Newer motherboards only need HTML5, which is built into most browsers these days, for remote console.
 

intensity

Neophyte
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
7
I plugged in ethernet to the top network port (which I understand is the IPMI one), but no new devices came up in my router. Restarting didn't help either.
Unfortunately I don't have a screen connected currently to see if there was any error messages during boot...
 

intensity

Neophyte
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
7
I was able to get the IPMI working, thanks for the help there!

I tried using a archlinux live USB to see if the PCI-E USB card would work, but it's not showing up new devices there either. I'll try to put it into a windows machine and see if it comes up there.
 
Top