OpenVPN - slow file transfer speed

Savicava

Cadet
Hello everyone, and welcome to my first post on this forum.
Feel free to criticize and be detailed, I often find that to be helpful :smile:

Before posting, I've searched for the "openvpn speed" keywords on the forum, but no luck.
In summary, I couldn't find a solution to my problem after more than a week of searching through the internet.
Every hint will be helpful, so thank you in advance!

I've been using TrueNAS Core server for about three months now.
Current OS version is 13.0-U4.
This is my first server, and it serves a home storage role.
Users, 99% myself and 1% my girlfriend, access the data via SMB. That's through the home network, and OpenVPN when remotely.
Server is connected to the network via the UTP cat. 5e cable, connected to the ISP supplied modem/router ZTE ZXHN H298Q v7 (single device).
My ISP uses a CG NAT, and I paid for a static public IP. This IP is used to setup my OpenVPN service in TrueNAS Core.
TrueNAS is the provider of my OpenVPN service, and a self-signed certification authority, using which i've generated server's, and the clients (users) certificates respectively.
Router is set to forward my 4-digit OpenVPN port of choice.
I've generated the OVPN profile, and imported it to our laptops and phones.
So OpenVPN connection to the "TrueNAS Core" server's SMB share is stable from all devices, but the file transfer speed is very limited in both directions.

Using an Android phone's OpenVPN client app, transfer speed doesn't go faster than 1-1.5 megabytes per second.
Using a Windows 11 laptop's OpenVPN client program, speed doesn't go faster than 15-20 megabytes per second.

Locally, when directly connected to the server without VPN, and using e.g. a Windows 11 or 10 laptop, transfer speeds exceed 60 megabytes per second.

These steps didn't affect the issue:
- Restarting the server and a router
- Accessing the server using a different internet provider and from another location