OpenVPN for Scale APP only

DevilNAS

Dabbler
Hello dear TrueNAS.

On this April Fools' Day, I am trying to put an App of SCALE trough a Open VPN tunnel to have a different external IP than my network.

I configured the OpenVPN like in the picture below.
1648804107636.png

But when I try to deploy the app it gives me an error in the OpenVPN Container.

Code:
+ exec sg vpn -c 'openvpn --cd /vpn --config /vpn/vpn.conf --script-security 2 --redirect-gateway def1 --auth-user-pass /vpn/vpn.auth                 '
Options error: --up script fails with '/etc/openvpn/update-resolv-conf': No such file or directory (errno=2)
Options error: Please correct this error.
Use --help for more information.

I am a noob on Kubernetes and I tried to move the missing file to that directory but the /etc is Read-Only so it cannot be created a new file there.

How can I solve this? Anyone have pass for the same problem? Is there something that I am missing to put OpenVPN working inside my Pod?

Thank you in advance!

TJett

Cadet
I'd love to help... but I've not even made it as far as you yet :l

Whenever I try to add an OpenVPN config to an app i can't launch it. I probably have an issue with my ovpn file from ExpressVPN but I haven't figured that out yet.

For your issue, can you open a shell for your app and see if you can see things in /etc or try to make a file?

I know this isn't directly related but I found something similar in a comment here https://www.reddit.com/r/ProtonVPN/comments/6w2vh0/up_script_fails_with_etcopenvpnupdateresolvconf/, maybe that can help you?

Just curious - what does your ovpn file look like? (without sharing the keys) I'm sure my issue is a total lack of understanding of what I'm trying to do, but I don't know what I don't know :) We'll get there eventually lol

truecharts

Guru
The best way to go in these cases is asking our support staff to help you through it and validate your setup.