NOOB Help with RAID levels

swezey

Dabbler
So total newbie here... Building my first TrueNAS. I'm using a 24 bay Supermicro chassis and will populate with 12TB drives. I am coming from the QNAP world and I always did RAID10 for performance and data protection. So....

1) Is there RAID10 in ZFS? Or something equivalent?
2) Is that my best choice in this scenario or is there something better?

I am looking for an equal amount performance and data protection. Yes, I'll be using snapshots and also mirroring to a second device AND mirroring to S3 but really keeping the primary storage up five 9's is preferred. Any thoughts or suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Bill

Mlovelace

Guru
Proper pool design depends on the intended workload of the storage server. You'll need to provide more information as to the hardware and intended use.

danb35

Hall of Famer
Is there RAID10 in ZFS? Or something equivalent?
Not RAID10 as such, but something similar in the form of striped mirrors.
Is that my best choice in this scenario or is there something better?
Since you've really told us nothing about your use case "in this scenario", we can't really say for sure. If VM storage is the main intended use, yes, a pool of a bunch of mirrored vdevs striped together would be a good way to go (lots of IOPS). For most bulk data storage and file sharing, we'd generally recommend 6-8-disk RAIDZ2 vdevs striped.

swezey

Dabbler
Guys,

Sorry, I'm not an IT person, I just play one on TV. ;-) Here's the hardware we're using:

CPU: 4x Intel Xeon E7-4850 V2 12 Core 2.3Ghz ( 48 Total Cores)
RAM: 128GB DDR3 ECC REG
RAID Controller QTY 1x AOC-S3008L-L8E HBA Controller IT Mode
Power Supplies: 4x 1620W Power supply PWS-1K62P-1R Platinum
**8x Memory Board X10QBI-MEM1 Rev 1.01 SYS-8048B-TRFT (12 slots per board)
Supermicro 4U 24x 3.5" Drive Bays 1 Nodes
Server Chassis/ Case: SYS-8048B-TRFT
Motherboard: X10QBI Ver 1.01