SOLVED NFS sharing / Export options

Status
Not open for further replies.

s25a

Explorer
Hi,

I am quite new to Freenas in regards to NFS and sharing. My goal is to setup a shared folder which is used for TV Recordings.

Before Freenas I used a QNAP NAS and it worked quite well there. The export file looks like:

Code:
cat /etc/exports
"/share/MD0_DATA/recordings" *(rw,async,no_subtree_check,insecure,no_root_squash

So I wanted to do that also on my Freenas with the same options however I do not find anything similar. Of course I could just paste the line in the exports file but I guess this is not the right way to do as it will be overwritten by the system, right?
The issue I have is that after creating the SHARE on Freenas it looks like:

Code:
nas# cat /etc/exports
/mnt/LPS/aufnahmen -mapall="media"

whereas media is the owner of the dataset with all permissions on it.
This unfortunately does not work - my Dreambox can access the share but it's not possible to write on this though everything in the permissions is set on read/write.
Any ideas? I guess I need the additional options like: rw,async,no_subtree_check,insecure,no_root_squash

Thanks S

screenshot.4.jpg

KrisBee

Wizard
I never used them, but QNAP & Dreambox are both Linux based whereas FreeNAS is based on FreeBSD. So you need to workout how to set up the equivalent NFS export in FrreNAS.

There are two halves to this - setting up the NFS service in FreeNAS and then the NFS share itself. Consult the user guide.

Your QNAP export looks to be using NFSv3 and "no_root_squash" equates to a NFS share where the "maproot user" = "root" & the "maproot group" = "wheel" in FreeNAS.

Check the owner and permissions of your QNAP share so see what to set in FreeNAS.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
whereas media is the owner of the dataset with all permissions on it.