Newbie with fresh installation and things are not working properly

mrangelo

Cadet
Hi guys,

A newbie here. In short:
1-Do I was supposed to go directly with TrueNAS? or FreeNAS?
2-How many USB external drives TrueNAS Support?

I've been using an HP box with an i7, 32GB and only 2 internal drives and an external USB3 Hard Drive enclosure with 4 drives for maybe 3 years with just CentOS, a couple of shares and Plex, everything was working smooth.

Today I finally decided to make the jump but things are not quite working. Maybe the first mistake I made (and please correct me) is that instead of going to FreeNAS I went directly with TrueNAS thinking "well, I will have to change anyways if they are abandoning FreeNAS" but now I dont even found a TrueNAS Help section in the forum.

Anyways, first issue, I've created a user account for myself so I dont have to be using root but no matter what the account doesn't work, changed the password 3 times and still saying wrong password. Is there someothing more I am supposed to activate? still using the root account.

Second issue, TrueNAS detects and I was able to create polls with the 2 internal hard drives perfectly fine but the external enclosure has been a headache, only recognizes 1 drive of 4. It was recognizing 2 but now stopped doing it. I extremely doubt is a hardware issue because as stated before everything was working perfectly on CentOS, plus 2 of the drives are 3 months old, they are 12tb and 8tb. I even took one of the drives and format it to NTFS with my PC to see is that wakes up the drive but nop. Really makes me think if TrueNAS is capable of manage 4+ external drives by USB3. I am not trying any fancy partition, just strip drives (I have backups and redundancy is not a big deal for me) Maybe I should go back to FreeNAS and start everything from scratch?

I will appreciate any advice.

mrangelo

Cadet
UPDATE: