Newbie question: Pools and Datasets

rofe

Cadet
Hi,

I'm new to both TrueNAS and FreeBSD.

I've installed TrueNAS following the guide, but I can't seem to find an explanation on Pools and if I need to create a Dataset my self.

I understand it like Pools is one or more disks in a Data VDev (Virtual Device?) configuration. When creating a VDev TrueNAS automatically creates a Dataset (a filesystem, ZFS?) called Root Dataset.

Can I use this for data or do I need to create my own Dataset or Zvol on top of the Pool?

What is best practice?
In my searches I found that some people have problems with permissions on the Root Dataset can't be changed.

Can I make multiple Datasets on the same Pool and will the Datasets automatically/dynaimcally share the available space in the Pool between them?

Regards
Ronni

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
It's best to create a dataset(s) and store your data there rather than in the root of the pool.

joeschmuck

Old Man
Can I make multiple Datasets on the same Pool and will the Datasets automatically/dynaimcally share the available space in the Pool between them?
Simple answer is YES. Sharing the space is the default but you can make quota limits if desired. Make sure you read the user guide.

And there are a lot of new terms to understand so take your time. Google is a good search engine to use to look up things, for example "truenas create dataset".

erikaJ

Cadet
Which version of TrueNAS do you have, CORE or SCALE? The instructions are similar but the UIs have differences.

rofe

Cadet
Thank you for helping out.

I'm reading the guides and documentation, as I move forward, also reading different sources - sometimes I just need to get it explained in different ways :smile:

Great with the quota, didn't know that.

I'm running TrueNAS Core due to ZFS and BSD.

I'm just going to say this in here. I hate how since ZFS's inception, they blurred the lines between the "pool" and the "top-level root dataset".