Newbie converts from Synology

CzarofAK

Dabbler
Hi all,

I am totally new to TrueNAS and diy NAS.
We had a Synology DS216J+ running now for about 8 years without any issues. Now its time to change.
Before I buy hardware for about 2000.- bucks, I would like to discuss the system setup as I planned it

HARDWARE:
Mainboard: Supermicro X11SCM-F or X11SCH-F
Processor: Core i3-9100
RAM: 2x Kingston KSM26ED8/16HD (32GB)
SSD (TrueNAS): 2x WD Red SN700 1TB
HDD (Pools): up to 8x WD Purple 6TB
Power supply: be quiet! Dark Power 12 850W
Case: Silverstone SST-CS380 V2 or Supermicro

The trickier bit is the SOFTWARE…
Here are my requirements:
  • It should host a HomeAssistant instance
  • It should host a Logitech Media Server instance
  • Data
  • It should support automatic (triggered by event or periodic) backups from Android, IOS and Win devices from remote and local network
  • Calendar and Contacts shall be hosted and synced to Android, IOS and Win devices from remote and local network
  • It should host a collaborative drive (pure network storage in a file hierarchy with folders)
  • The collaborative drive shall be accessible from Android, IOS and Win devices from remote and local network
  • Photos
  • It should create “intelligent” photo albums based on tags
  • The photo albums shall be accessible and managed from Android, IOS and Win devices from remote and local network
  • There shall be a Photo browser for Android, IOS and Win devices from remote and local network
  • The photos shall be accessible directly in the file storage (locally only)
  • Security cameras
  • There shall be a security camera dashboard which allows to watch live streams as well as recordings from Android, IOS and Win devices from remote and local network
  • There shall be a security camera dashboard for managing the cameras and recordings
  • The recording shall be endless (overwriting above a certain file size)
  • Backups