Newbie - cannot find setting to backup encryption keys

Giacomo_W

Dabbler
I am completely new in the world of truenas.
So if I doe things wrong or have to share more info please tell me.

I have set up Truenas an version TrueNAS-12.0-U2.1 is up and runing.
Recently I had an issue and had to go through several settings to get things up and running again.
At that time I did not know how or where to backup things.

I looked it up in the maual/documentation, but the screenshots ofthe pool action menu is different from the one I see.
manual site : https://www.truenas.com/docs/core/
It says in the manual that I have to select Export Dataset Keys, see screenshot 1
screenshot 1.jpg

But I do not have that option in my menu, see screenshot 2
screenshot 2.jpg

I found the backup for the configuration in system.
So I generated a .tar file, but now I miss the dataset keys.

Can it be that I forgot to encrypt the datset en therefore I do not see this option?
I can not remember doing this because I setup the nas togethet with a friend

Can someone tell me if I miss out on something?
Please advise?

What is the output of:

zfs get encryption poolname

Substitute poolname for your actual pool.

Giacomo_W

Dabbler
thanks for your quick response winnielillie
output is: "poolname encryption off default"
So I understand the pool is not encrypted
Can I still now encrypt it, or do I have to remove or recopy all data to do so?

Based on that output, it appears that encryption was not enabled during pool creation. (It's a bit misleading, since it does not prevent you from encrypting new child datasets independently of the root dataset's property.)

However, it sounds like you already filled everything up with data on these (default) non-encrypted datasets?