BUILD New to FreeNAS - please review my build plan

Status
Not open for further replies.

MurphyZoo

Cadet
I'm planning on building a FreeNAS system to use at home, but given I'm new to FreeNAS, I'd appreciate it if you could review my current build plan. I will be using the FreeNAS box as a backup system for my home PCs as well as a Plex server streaming to Roku devices on TVs (very little transcoding), possibly as a iTunes server - I'm sure I'll find other needs as well. I'm trying to keep the price down without sacrificing necessary items.

I've read several posts in this forum and several of the guides and have purchased the following list of hardware:
  • ASRock C2550D4i mini-itx server board
    • I considered the C2750 based board, but this was $120 cheaper and seemed to meet the performance goals based on other forum posts.
  • 16GB (2x8GB) ECC unbuffered DDR3 - CT2KIT102472BD160B
  • Fractal Design Define R4 case
    • ATX mid-tower case instead of miniITX (somewhat defeats the purpose of the ITX motherboard, I know), I could have bought the node 304, but the Define R4 was cheaper and I wanted this for a future (2+ year) expansion of this NAS.
  • Seasonic S12G 450W 80+Gold power supply
    • I already had this power supply - given it is not a SFX form factor, I didn't get the SilverStone DS308B case.
  • 2 extra rosewill ROCF-13002 120mm computer case fans
  • sandisk cruzer fit 32GB USB drive (FreeNAS OS drive)
  • 3@ 4TB WD Red hard drives (2 from Amazon, 1 from NewEgg)
  • 3@ 4TB Seagate NAS drives (2 from Amazon, 1 from NewEgg)
I'll setup the system with the 6 disks in a RAIDZ2 setup. They'll be connected to the Intel SATA ports (not the Marvell).

Outside of the items listed in the Building/Burn-in/Testing post (https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/building-burn-in-and-testing-your-freenas-system.17750/), is there anything else I should do to test this system before installing and using FreeNAS?