New to FreeNAS; Performance check

Status
Not open for further replies.

kourosh

Dabbler
Hi,

I am total noob in FreeNAS. I have been reading about it in the forum for past couple of months. I finally finished my build last month as follows;

Motherboard: Supermicro Micro X11SSM-F-O
CPU: Intel Core i3-6300
RAM: Samsung ECC 16GB DDR4-2400
Power supply: SeaSonic G Series SSR-550RM 550W
Hard drives: 3 X 4 TB WD Red in raidZ1
Chasis: Fractal Design Node 804

I have created a couple of smb (for personal storages) and afp (for time machine) shares. I use Mac to to work with my FreeNAS.

My question now is regarding the performance of my FreeNAS. More specifically, read/write speed. I think I am not getting the performance that I am supposed to.

As I said, I am total noob, and I don’t have any idea how to check read/write speed systematically. Is there any specific guide to walk me through the performance check?

What I have done so far is to connect my Mac to FreeNAS using two methods; 1) connecting both of them to my router 2) connecting my Mac directly to the FreeNAS. And then I did read/write speed test using BlackMagic Speed Test. Below are my results;

Using method 1:
35-50 MB/s

Using method 2:
300 MB/s

Based on the above preliminary results, my router is clearly a problem. But is 300 MB/s good enough for my system with direct connection to FreeNAS? Is BlackMagic Speed Test is the best method to use for performance check?

Thanks
Kourosh

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Based on the above preliminary results, my router is clearly a problem. But is 300 MB/s good enough for my system with direct connection to FreeNAS? Is BlackMagic Speed Test is the best method to use for performance check?
I think you are misunderstanding the capability of a NAS. It isn't able to magically make your drives faster. According to the spec sheet from WD, that model drive only has a 'internal transfer rate' of 150 MB/s. There is your speed limit. It is absolute.