New to FreeNAS - HELLO WORLD !

Status
Not open for further replies.

ninjaneer68

Dabbler
Hello everyone ! Josh said I should introduce myself so here I go....... LoL
I am a system administrator by trade but on the windows side of the house. New to the Linux/UNIX world but I have been trying\learning

I have an half server RACK at home and working on building out a full blown VMware lab with NAS support. The first thing I am building out is my FreeNAS.

Below is my FreeNAS set up

SERVER Enclosure (12 BAYS)
CHENBRO CLOUD SERVER
2X INTEL XEON QUAD CORE E5506 2.13GHz
72GB RAM
Model# - RM23212H09 - 12736

BACK PLANE
mini-SAS X 3

RAID CONTROLLER
Adaptec RAID 51245 (Came with Server) - Currently set up as JBOD - morph simple volume
Link to RAID Controller website

HDD
Toshiba P300 High Performance 2TB Internal Hard Drive (Bulk) 3.5 Inch SATA - HDWD120UZSVA
Only have 3 Drives right now
Amazon Link to Drives

FreeNAS OS
USB device that FreeNAS is installed on
PNY USB 3.0 FD PMAP
Link to Drives that freenas is installed on

NICS
Two 1 GB NICS
one - IPMI port

Latest Challenges - Can NOT get SMART to start ( Click HERE for new thread for this)
The service started when I did a fresh install, then I restore my FreeNAS install and the service will not start. Not sure how to trouble shoot this.

** UPDATE ** I reinstalled FREENAS as a mirror across 2 USB devices and when I did the SMART service started with no problems

Last edited:

joeschmuck

Old Man
First of all, Welcome to FreeNAS Forums!

I suspect the issue with SMART is your RAID controller. FreeNAS wants to be in direct control of the hard drives, no RAID controller in the middle, just a simple HBA. I'm not a RAID controller card expert but maybe the card could be flashed into IT mode. If it cannot then you should be looking for a different card.

gpsguy

Welcome to the forums!