New Server Build - plan with questions

Napalm

Dabbler
I'm new to most of this in general so I will probably ask the wrong thing.

I bought a HP Z420 workstation box with the E5-2590 processor and 16GB of ECC ram. Plan to put 32 in it next. I have 2 SSD, both samsung. 128 gb and 256 gb I plan to use one as my OS and app/jail drive.

I've orded a LSI 9265-8i off the internet but I'm a bit worried about what it actually is since the posting also says (new DELL in box). So it's either a Dell controller or a LSI controller that was to be sold though dell. not sure won't know till I have hands on it.

But even without the card - This intel board and setup has a number of SATA ports. 2 6b/s, and what seems to be 4 and 4 - 3GB/s. other 4 being an intel raid controller - that I assume at the moment I can turn off.

Drives - planning on getting 4, HGST 3tb Ultrastor devices that are 7200 RPM sata III. Goal is to put them in Z1 configuration but I'm also reading on putting them as 2 stripped - mirrors as opposed to the Z1 config. And I will have a 5th drive as a ready backup.

Any obvious holes that I've over looked. Or major issues - I've been doing some searches and it seems some people have trouble with the Z420 box - and others used them easily.

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
I've orded a LSI 9265-8i off the internet but I'm a bit worried about what it actually is since the posting also says (new DELL in box). So it's either a Dell controller or a LSI controller that was to be sold though dell. not sure won't know till I have hands on it.
Yes, you should be worried about that card, because it's a RAID controller; what you want for TrueNAS/ZFS is a Host Bus Adapter (HBA), gory details here:

Hopefully you can return it and get a true HBA, based on the LSI 2008, 2308, or 3008 chipsets. Flashed to IT mode with the correct firmware, these will serve you well. You can study the exhaustive list of LSI cards here: