new server build - and noob doing it question

Napalm

Dabbler
I know this will probably go sideways quickly but I have to ask.

I'm new to server building and I am building a kit for the home. This is to replace a NAS box and do some more. Basically media service box is goal one, general NAS duty is goal 2 or well 1 b, and extra ability for things like camera base and I'm not sure what else yet. but there are a number of service I'm considering. Now I will stop here and say while I'm a noob where I work we program and I have a few friends in the IT/Server support world to call upon.

Which is actually how I ended up here in the first place.

Box - HP Z420 workstation, E5 2690 processor 32gb ECC ram (might put in more) 2 Sata SSD's planned for one OS and dockers and one planned for cache. then a ZFS array as RaidZ1 with 4 Hitachi ultrastor 3tb drives. I don't need gobs of space yet and the price for these bits is reasonable for a first go at thing. As space is needed I seem to understand ZFS scale out is not a possibility or other wise new array of drives.

TO that end I think I want to try TrueNAS scale for the OS. I understand it's in a beta state - but I also see it's based on some solid footing and most of the features being added are not things I plan to use right away. Reason I ask and why I think it would work for me is the ability to have docker. One of my services I want to use (Jellyfin) has a docker support image that is apparently an easy install.

again noob builder with some odd thoughts I suppose, feel free to flame away.

Thank you in advance for any help

danb35

Hall of Famer
As space is needed I seem to understand ZFS scale out is not a possibility or other wise new array of drives.
I'm not quite sure what you're saying here. To expand your pool, you have two options: (1) replace all disks in a vdev with larger ones, or (2) add another vdev to the pool. What isn't an option is converting an n-disk RAIDZ1 to an n+1-disk RAIDZ1.

Etorix

Wizard