New Scale build, SAS drives seem to be stuck in SMART Long test even after power cycle?

billbillw

Dabbler
Hello,
I am setting up a new home server with Scale. This is my first dealing with TrueNAS (coming from ProxmoxVE).
I'm just a hobbyist so I tend to get in over my head on some of this. I have an issue and I'm not sure if it is a problem or not. Also, if it is a problem, how can I resolve it?
Details below.

I have a fairly simple server based on a Supermicro X10SRH-CF (built in SAS3008), 64GB of Reg ECC and a pool of 5x HGST HE10 8TB drives (retired from enterprise service) and a few SSDs to run containers/apps. I have Scale 11.12.0 installed successfully and I've been trying to make sure the "new to me" 8TB drives are up to the task. I started by putting them all through a SMART Long test using the TrueNAS Storage GUI.

I made the initial mistake of not selecting all 5 drives and was doing them individually. I initially saw some error messages about only being able to run one at a time? At some point shortly after that, I realized that I should have selected all 5 drives and then initiated the SMART Long test.

So long story short, I have done several power on/off cycles, I did get one full run of SMART Long tests (simultaneous 5 drives) to run successfully, but oddly, both TrueNAS and Putty's smartctl show all 5 drives are still running a long test, but there is nothing showing in the jobs tab. This has been several days now. The Running test pre-dates the successful tests.

Here is an example of what comes up for SDA:
root@truenas[~]# smartctl -a /dev/sda
smartctl 7.2 2020-12-30 r5155 [x86_64-linux-5.15.79+truenas] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-20, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org

=== START OF INFORMATION SECTION ===
Vendor: HGST
Product: HUH721008AL5200
Revision: A384
Compliance: SPC-4
User Capacity: 8,001,563,222,016 bytes [8.00 TB]
Logical block size: 512 bytes
Physical block size: 4096 bytes
LU is fully provisioned