New low powered home build. Got several options, need help to choose

Status
Not open for further replies.

strato

Dabbler
Hello

I've been using FreeNas for a couple of years on a low powered AMD A4 CPU.
The purpose of the build has been SAB, Transmission and just general back-end for Kodi.
This build has not been powerful enough to transcode with Plex which I now want to accomplish with my new build.

Here are my goals for the new build, from most important to least important:
  • It needs to be powerful enough to transcode a minimum of 3 streams with Plex and still have headroom to run other easy tasks smoothly.
  • It needs to draw low power. I don't have a dedicated or cooled server room. Heat output and noise needs to be low. Im thinking that 150w at load is very much the maximum, but I'd like to stay way lower than this.
  • It needs to be able to run at least 6 HDD's in software raid. I don't care if all the plugs are on the board, or if I need an expansion card.
  • It needs to be compatible with FreeNAS. By that I mean temperature sensors and such, less important features. If this is going to cost me a huge buck, then it can be sacrificed.
  • I'd like to have small form factor. ITX would be great, but I could also go for a smaller mid-tower type of case. I don't really have anywhere to put a rack mounted case.
  • 10gbs LAN is cool, but I honestly don't need it at this point of time. My home network is naturally 1gbs, so the only use for a 10gb port would be direct link to another computer.

Here is my list of options. The options are based on available deals at my location, hardware I have laying around and available deals on the second hand marked in my area.

X6 1090t, 8GB of consumer ram, high end mobo:
This is some hardware I have laying around from an old build. My server has been running on this since my A4 went busted.
Pros: Runs 2 streams with ease. (Passmark: 5620) and will cost me 0.
Cons: Way too hot (TDP 125w). ATX and a bit too noisy.