New file/media storage server.

Status
Not open for further replies.

JGO95

Cadet
Hello everyone. It's my first time posting here. I'm currently in the process of building a home server mainly to be used for file storage and media consumption with plex (other cases might arise in the future). I will mostly be storing movies, videos, Audio CDs, and photos along with the usual computer backups, etc. After reading the recommended hardware specs and countless threads in the forum I arrived at the following build.

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230v4
Motherboard: Supermicro X11SSH-F
Ram: 2x Samsung M391A2K43BB1-CPB DDR4-2133 16GB Module
PSU: Corsair HX1000i 80+ Plat
Case: X-Case RM424 Pro 24 Bay Hotswap Storage Server Case
HBA: 2x LSI 9211-8i 6Gb/s

First a couple of disclaimers:
1. I know the PSU is overkill but I got it at a very good price (less than what a Hw750i would cost). If this still turns out to be EXTREMELY overkill, I might consider selling it and buying a slightly less power hungry one.
2. I would prefer a SuperMicro case, but I'm from Europe and I can't seem to find an affordable one that would ship to where I live. I have been looking at Ebay for the past 2 months but found nothing. Besides, most of the ones that DO ship here have the SAS 1 backplane (which only allows up to 2TB drives). So that's a no go. A week ago I found out about theses cases. There is not much information about them but they seem to have evolved from a Norco 4224 copy to a slight different one. If somebody has any feedback about them, I'll be happy to hear it.

First I intend to run an M.2 SSD for my boot drive (still unsure what model).

Now my only question is what drive setup do I choose. I'm aiming at a minimum of 40~45 TB of usable storage (already accounting for the 80% utilization). I'm currently looking at two options:
1. 24x 4TB WD RED (3x 8-disc RaidZ2 Vdevs)
2. 16x 6TB WD RED (2x 8-disc RaidZ2 Vdevs)