BUILD New build - review and recommendations?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zoom555

Cadet
I'm new to FreeNAS and looking to build a system. My current picks for hardware are below and I'd appreciate knowledgeable eyes looking over my build for glaring problems or opportunities for parts that would offer a better price/performance return.

This will be a system for home file server use, as well as running Plex Media Server for a limited amount of transcoding. (My main home theatre has an XBMC HTPC; it doesn't require transcoding. Transcoding would be to a maximum of two 1080p streams at a time - both to Roku boxes running the Plex client).

Planned Build

MB: Supermicro MBD-X10SLL-F-O
CPU: Xeon E3-1220v3
RAM: Crucial 16GB (2x8) CT2KIT102472BD160B (not listed in MB compatibility list, but this post suggest it is compatible)
Case: Fractal Design Node 804
Drives: 6 x 3TB Seagate ST3000VN000
PS: Corsair 450w CS450M Modular PS (I think this would give me enough power to reach the 8 drive capacity of the drive cages later if I added a SATA controller card - thoughts?)

Thanks in advance for any advice you folks can offer!

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
I'm new to FreeNAS and looking to build a system. My current picks for hardware are below and I'd appreciate knowledgeable eyes looking over my build for glaring problems or opportunities for parts that would offer a better price/performance return.

This will be a system for home file server use, as well as running Plex Media Server for a limited amount of transcoding. (My main home theatre has an XBMC HTPC; it doesn't require transcoding. Transcoding would be to a maximum of two 1080p streams at a time - both to Roku boxes running the Plex client).

Planned Build

MB: Supermicro MBD-X10SLL-F-O
CPU: Xeon E3-1220v3
RAM: Crucial 16GB (2x8) CT2KIT102472BD160B (not listed in MB compatibility list, but this post suggest it is compatible)
Case: Fractal Design Node 804
Drives: 6 x 3TB Seagate ST3000VN000