New build help. 1k budget

apb0703

Dabbler
I have been using Freenas since 2014 and really enjoy it. I am looking to build a new system and have looked at a number of different builds. I can't decide what the best would be so looking for some help. I would like something that is mainly used as a Plex server but will also store other files. My current system is running a supermicro x10sae with a Intel Xeon e3 3.4ghz. It has 8 6tb drives and runs fairly well. I am looking to build something similar. I am mainly looking for help with everything but hard drives as I will not get them all at once but will add as needed. One thing I like about the x10sae is the capability of 8 drives. I am working about a 1k budget give or take a $100.

So short story looking for help on a new build
  • 8 or more capability
  • Mainly used as a Plex server with some 4k content
  • Will add hard drives as needed so they don't need to be factored into price
Some things I have considered are:

Case
Motherboard
Power Supply
Processor
Memory

I appreciate any suggestions and look forward to what everyone has to offer. Thank you.

Last edited:

Nick2253

Wizard
Why are you looking to build a new system? Will this live along side the old system, or is it meant as a replacement for it?

If the goal is to expand the space, you could add drives through a SAS expander, which would be much cheaper.

JaimieV

Guru
See my sig, but look at R5xx series rather than R4xx to get 2U and up to 12 HDDs.

5-7 year old server hardware costs very little, isn't any slower than current for the stuff you need, Registered ECC DDR3 costs nothing, and the Dell 2u series fans are quieter than the hard drives. A Dell R520 with 8 disks and a lower-power 4 core Xeon and 64gig comes in at about 90W.

Last edited:

apb0703

Dabbler
Why are you looking to build a new system? Will this live along side the old system, or is it meant as a replacement for it?