Need your approval for a FreeNAS project

Status
Not open for further replies.

daùienR

Explorer
Hello everybody.
I'm embarking on a new adventure: a homemade NAS with FreeNAS.

I would like your approval before embarking.

First the configuration:
1. The case Fractal Design Node 304
2. The Power supply Seasonic G-360
3. The motherboard ASRock H110M-ITX
4. The processor Intel Pentium G4400
5. The RAM Crucial DDR4, 2666 MT/s, PC4-21300, SR x4, ECC, Registered, DIMM, 288-Pin
6. One WD red 3to drive that I get back, and two WD red 4to drive : total 11to

Context:
My project is to construct a NAS for photography. I'm a professional photographer and I want to have access to my photographs from everywhere (computer and laptop). I need to keep my photographs safe too.
So I need speed and security.
If I have space I also want to save my films.

RAID Configuration:
I'm still hesitating but I think to build my RAID like that:
  • One RAID 0 with all my WD red disk
  • One RAID 0 or a big disk for back up my first RAID each week. I want this unit don't work all the time for limit the wear.

Plugins envisaged:
1: Owncloud: for clouding my photographs.
2: Plex: for streaming my films.

Tell me what you think about my project and especially if you see a flaw in my project.

Thank you very very very much.

Damien

PS: I'm French so excuse my English :)

Last edited by a moderator:

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Welcome.

Your case, power supply, and CPU are sufficient. Bear in mind that the Node 304 is rather tightly packed, and although you don't plan on fully loading it with drives you should consider installing the front fans and monitoring your drive temperatures.

Your motherboard supports but does not actually use ECC memory. From the manufacturer's page:
  • Supports ECC UDIMM memory modules (operate in non-ECC mode)
You will need to pick a board that actually uses ECC if you want to reap the benefits.